
So, last Thursday, August 31st, I decided it was time to pee on a stick.
I was 2 weeks late for my period. I went off birth control last spring. But I didn't feel pregnant. But, it had been 2 weeks. So, time to pee on the stick.
We waited until the girls had gone to bed. We cracked out the handy Walgreens Easy to Read Pregnancy Test. Bill and Marciana gave it to us several months ago. It was a 2 pack and they had only needed one, obviously. Bill wanted a really easy to understand one. No plus or minus or blue lines or pink lines. This test has a digital readout that will say "Pregnant", "Not Pregnant", or "Error" in easy to see text. It claims to be "over 99% accurate" and the Ob/Gyn office agrees.
Holy crap.
At this point I must say that using a pregnancy test is both awkward and embarrassing. We got through it. Brian held the readout while I thoroughly washed my hands. I says it takes up to 3 minutes to get a result. Brian grinned after a minute and put the readout in front of my eyes.
"Pregnant"
My response wasn't eloquent. I didn't hug Brian and tell him how much I loved him and how happy I was. I felt that way later. At that moment I grunted, "Nuh-uh!" I figured we just needed to let it sit for another minute and the "Not" would appear. Brian asked if I was happy. I said of course, but that the test was wrong. I think he laughed at me.
After 5 minutes I accepted that "not" wasn't going blip up on the little screen. I was happy but scared. It just couldn't be real. I can't get pregnant, right?
We decided to wake Holly. We figured that she was listening from her bed, but she really was asleep. A child after my own heart, she said "Nuh-uh!" when we told her. She also wanted to know if the test we showed her was a fake one we'd bought somewhere. Once we convinced her, she was so excited she could hardly go back to sleep.
We tried to tell Bridgette, but she would just look cross at us and try to pass out again. Brian told her in the morning.
So how exciting but scary. I went off birth control in the spring. After a couple of months I just figured I shouldn't get my hopes up. I figured I would likely never get pregnant, but that was OK because I had my stepdaughters and they were plenty enough for me. But I love my girls and wish I had known them as babies. Now I have an opportunity to know one of my little ones from the beginning. The girls are very excited, though Holly is less than pleased at having to give up her room. Poor kid.
So, I have an appointment with my Ob/Gyn, Dr. Patrick, on the 11th.
Wish me luck!
Melli
2 comments:
How exciting! Congratulations and all of that! And yay, you're having your bay at Mercy, too! I love that practice (I had Dr. Adam) and I loved Mercy. But I can't believe you only took one test...it took me four until I believed it. =)
By the way, ^ was Candace.
Post a Comment